Art and Math · Paper Toy

Paper Toy: a Foldable Structure

In 2016 I wrote a post about an ingenious structure I had come across while browsing through patents in the late 1980’s. This past week I received a question about how to attach the sections of the structure together.

Although I was able to locate the piece from the 2016 post, I thought it might be best to make some new ones before answering.

I had used a heavy paper for the sample way-back when showing this foldable structure to third and fourth graders. The units are held together with tape, which is manageable to do with a classroom of 10ish-year-olds. The amazing thing is that, even though I made this sample about 20 years ago, the tape still is holding the pieces together.

More images of this structure are on my instagram page https://www.instagram.com/p/C3Gj-9dJkNN/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igsh=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

The one I just made for myself uses paper hinges for the attachments. If you, the reader, have bookbinding skills, you would likely choose to use PVA with cloth or paper hinges, to make the attachments. The experienced bookbinder’s method would be very tough to do with children.

There’s a third way of attaching that is best seen, not described. Well, actually, even the taped option should be demonstrated as even the taping method is not as obvious as it sounds.

Here is a video, which, I hope, explains all.

If you are interested, which of course you are, here’s a pdf I made from the copy I made of the patent by Iris Sarid

6 thoughts on “Paper Toy: a Foldable Structure

  1. Paula, You find the most interesting things. This is a fascinating structure and dovetails with an idea I had for making a box of “puzzle”books. I looked at the PDF and your Instagram account and, frankly, need more help in figuring it out. You mentioned a video in your bog post but I didn’t see a link to it. Can you send it to me or post it OR (worst case scenario) show me where it is and forgive me for missing it! Lorraine Hartin-Gelardi (lhartin@aol.com)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HI Lorraine, yup there was trouble with the video link at first, but I think it’s fixed now.

      It’s grand hearing from you. I think that this structure has lots of storytelling potential, since there are hidden surfaces. Maybe play around with attaching just two sections together in a linear way (not as a continuous loop). This might suggest other ways of using it in your work.

      Here is the video link , but I think you won’t have any trouble seeing it on the blog now.

      Like

Leave a comment