Decoration · folding · How-to

‘Tis the Season to Make Paper Snowflakes

zt-new-snowflake
How to make a six-sided snowflake/  helpful  60 degree triangle included

Addendum, 2016: This page has  gotten so many views that I decided to update the original set of directions with the improved version above. I’d be grateful to know if you’ve found these directions helpful.

This post was written after I tried, through two thousand miles of phone wire, to explain to my friend Cynthia how to make a six-sided (six-pointed?) snowflake using dinner napkins. I failed.

I suggest using  regular dinner napkins. These are just about always square, folded into fourths. Perfect. You will need a pair of scissors, and have at the ready a triangle that has at least one 60 degree angle on it. An equilateral triangle has three angles that measure 60 degrees, so this is the best one to use. And where can you get this triangle? Well, right here.

Print the equilateral triangle then cut it out.

Next, open up a napkin so that it is folded in half instead of fourths, From the middle of the folded edge, fold the bottom up 60 degrees. To get just the right angle, use the 60 degree triangle, placing the point of the triangle on the bottom of the middle fold on the napkin. See the picture below.

Follow the steps on the tutorial page at the top of the post.

Here are how my snowflakes looked after I made cuts.

And here they are hanging on my front door.

If you want to attach snowflakes to a window in such a way that the tape doesn’t have to be scraped off, use Scotch Magic Tape. This is the only tape that I have found that comes off of glass when you want it to come off.

Addendum! If you want your snowflake cutting to make more sense, take a look at https://bookzoompa.wordpress.com/2014/12/02/paper-snowflake-cutting-tips/

13 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season to Make Paper Snowflakes

  1. hi Paula; I love your snowflakes tutorial; I’ve also got some hanging at my doorway. You will find a blog-post under paper-cuttings label in December 09 with images if you wish. I like your idea using the folder napkins too

    Like

    1. Carole M…I had a great time looking at the your posts about paper cutting. Thanks for pointing me in your direction. The added bonus was seeing your Christmas tour of Sydney. From my northern hemisphere perspective all the holiday decorations against the southern hemisphere backdrop are fun to see.

      Like

  2. Paula, yes! Your instructions and photos are flawless and inspiring guides. I think I will print them out and post them at work for folks to make snowflakes as they are standing waiting for their lunches to heat up. OX C

    Like

    1. Thanks Cynthia.
      As a geographer, you might find it interesting that the two comments on this post (yours and Carole M’s) came from nearly opposite co-ordinates: yours at 45 N 93 W and Carole’s at 33 S 151 E

      the internet is so cool….

      Like

  3. I think it is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo FUN

    Like

  4. This is brilliant! So much easier than the “fold in thirds” as shown on so many other how-to directions. Thank you for the triangle. I will be using this with my fourth graders this month.

    Like

    1. Oh! That’s great that you are doing this with 4th graders.,,and,maybe using that equilateral triangle will give them a reassuring connection with geometry? I hope you use the dinner napkins, as they are so much easier to cut than regular copy paper. Thanks so much for leaving a comment..
      good luck and have fun.(ps…if you send me a photo of your students’ snowflacks I will post it on my blog)

      Like

Leave a comment