8 1/2" x 11" Book Making · How-to · Making books with elementary students · Rubber Band Books · simple book binding

Jelly Bean Books

I recently received this comment on one of my blog pages:

“Hi Paula
I have come across a copy of an article Jelly Bean Books by you, which looks like its been published in a magazine. Unfortunately, I only have step 1, and steps 5 and 6, so cant quite work out how you get the book folded and utilise all the lines you make in step one. Would you consider sending me a link to the instructions for these little books please? I love papercraft, specifically book binding and card making, and collect any new ideas I find.
I look forward to hearing back from you
many thanks
Bronwyn”

My Jelly Bean Book instructions were written up for a book Making Books and Journals, published by Lark Books 1999. Constance E. Richards collected projects for this book from eleven different book artists. It’s a charming book, full of fine projects, well presented. Constance had asked me to come up with some simple book making projects. Since the request came close to Easter, and since the books are meant to be small and colorful, I called them Jelly Bean Books.

Something about them being small invites playfulness. I make them using all sorts of papers, with snippets of decorations.

Decorating the inside is fun too,.

Template for Jelly Bean book
Print out this template, then copy it on your printer at 115%

Here’s template for making the cover of the Jelly Bean Books. Start with a strip of paper 2 inches x 9 1/2 inches. Score sections according to the template. Fold and glue the two shorter sections together. Fold in the corners of the end of the other side of the paper to make a point.

For the pages, fold and nest four pieces of paper that are either 4 1/4 or 4 3/4 inches. Attach them to the spine of the book (refer to pictures). Attach in with sewing, wrapping or rubberbanding. Cut a slit into into the folded pieces for the pointed end to slip into.

The Making Books and Journals, book was published over ten years ago and can bought, used, for nearly nothing . This being the case, I am going to assume that it’s okay for me to scan the pages for of the book for Bronwyn to print. Here are links to the First Page and the Second Page of the directions published by Lark. These directions are more thorough than what I have written here.

I want to mention that it looks to me, from her email address, that Bronwyn is from New Zealand,. This fact inspired me to take the time to scan in these pages as I am smitten by the fact that the internet allows people from all across the world to easily connect with each other.

And, surpirise, surprise, whilen searching for a used book supplier for Bronwyn, I found this site in New Zealand which announces that this book is going to be republished in March 2011. I couldn’t find a thing about the republishing of this book on Lark’s website, but Amazon‘s site also has the same announcement. If Amazon says it, I guess it must be true….

4 thoughts on “Jelly Bean Books

  1. Hi Paula
    Thanks so much for these instructions and wonderful pictures. Yes, I’m from New Zealand, and just love your blog with all its inspiring projects.
    Keep up the great work!! 🙂
    regards
    Bronwyn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bronwyn, you wrote this note just seconds after I wrote to you! It sent up chill up my back to see this synchronicity from half way around the world,. You must just by starting your day. It’s about 10pm here, so I am just now ending my day.
      Thanks for your commnets and come back soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your blog and books and links are going around the world allright! It is sent and used recently to a refugee school in Indonesia, founded last year by friend from Afghanistan, refugees themselves. They made books with the youngest kids in an instant and are happy to be informed and taught.
    Your work is important! Thank you for giving us so much fun together.
    Iris

    Like

    1. Thank you Iris. Your comment here pleases me more than you could know. Thanks so much. Empowering young child with bookmaking is exciting work. I applaud your friend from Afghanistan for sharing this work.

      Like

Leave a comment