How-to · Non-adhesive Book · simple book binding

V-Pockets Book Cover

V-pockets Book Cover
Click on drawings to enlarge or print

        Last Sunday morning  I was trying out different ways of folding 11″ x 17″ paper to make a folded book cover.  When the structure that I’ve drawn out in the document above appeared in my hands I was so excited that I kept making one right after the other, and, thus began my Off To South Africa day of bookmaking.

When I wrote the post about sending off the V-Pockets books that I had made I wondered if anyone would notice and ask about the folding method. I wondered if anyone would ask how to make it, and how long it would take for that inquiry, if ever, to come.

After posting it took me three hours to get back to the computer to look over the post. Bronwyn, who is literally half the world away from me, had already noticed and asked. I was so pleased that I immediately got to work on some sketches and sent them out to her. Here’s an excerpt of her response, which might be helpful to people who work with A3 rather than 11″ x 17″:

“….those instructions – they work perfectly!! I…. got an A3 piece of paper (which is 29.7cm x 42cm) …. and cut it to 22cm x 34 cm – not the same size as yours, but the same proportional dimensions.  I’ve ended up with an 11cm square, so you probably end up with an 5 1/2 inch square.”

So, there you have it, the metric measurements! Roughly, a proportion to keep in mind is that the starting paper proportions should be 1:1.5,  so if your paper is 10 units wide, is should be about 15 units long.

Thank yous to Bronwyn and to the others who asked for instructions on this structure. I hope you enjoy making books (or folders) with these directions.

6 thoughts on “V-Pockets Book Cover

  1. While waiting for these instructions, I managed to come up with a structure that looks similar, but uses paper that has a 1:2 ratio and ended up 1/4 the size of the longer side.

    So I can cut down 12×12 scrap-booking paper, which is widely available in wonderful patterns, to 12×6 and get 2 3″ square covers for tiny books. Your structure is nice because you lose less to folding (efficiency is always admirable!) and if I can find any paper I like that’s the right size, I’ll definitely try it, or I will cut down 12×12 paper to 12×8 and get one bigger cover out of a sheet of 12×12, instead of the 2 tiny ones.

    Your blog is full of inspiration for fun with paper. Thanks so much for getting these instruction up so quickly and for sharing all the wonderful things you do on this blog!

    Like

Leave a comment