How to Make an Origami Pamphlet

November 30, 2009

how to make an origami book out of one piece of paper

Making an 8-page Origami Pamphlet

The first time that I saw printed directions for this book stucture was in a book, which I did not buy, in a Teachers Store somewhere in Brooklyn, about thirty years ago.  I tried to memorize the instructions (I failed).   It was a couple of years before I found it again.

Over the years I have come across many, many sets of instructions for this structure.  Maybe one day someone will collect as many versions as they can find and post them all in one place.  But, for now, here’s my most current version (This, the third or forth attempt at getting it right.)   If you want to print it out, this link : Making an 8-page Origami Pamphlet will be a better quality than the above image. For black and white printing, here is the B&W handout for the Origami Pamphlet.

And, just for fun, here are a few more links to directions posted by other people:

Addendum March 5, 2014 : I’ve just created a Pinterest board with loads of different versions of instructions of this same structure. It’s a fun look at all the variations. http://www.pinterest.com/bookzoompa/a-collection-of-how-to-make-an-orgami-pamphlet-eig/

Please send me links to any other tutorials like this that you may find!

17 Responses to “How to Make an Origami Pamphlet”


  1. […] is a wonderful illustration I found from Paula Beardell Krieg’s Book Arts Blog- please go check out her other wonderful book ideas: Image from […]

    Like

  2. Sue Cole Says:

    This book is also known as the “instant book” from “How to Make a Book” by Esther K Smith. She shows it in a taller form as well.

    Like


    • Directions for this book form is so well covered by so many artists that I sometimes think it would be a great idea to have a show that just featured set of directions have been created by different people. One of these days I might put together a show of this myself! I will keep a look out for Esther’s directions: she makes great tutorials.

      Like


  3. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i
    am truly impressed to read everthing at one place.

    Like


  4. […] This activity can be easily replicated and adjusted for other events, i.e. we are going to make these books for letterboxing in the library. Get the full how-to.  […]

    Like


  5. I was excited to uncover this page. I need to to thank you
    for your time for this particularly wonderful read!!
    I definitely loved every bit of it and i also have you book marked to check out new stuff on your web site.

    Like


  6. I needed to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit
    of it. I have you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…

    Like


  7. […] of my robot designs into coloring pages! Download the free Robot Coloring Book, then head over to Paula Beardell Krieg’s Book Arts to learn how to fold it. While you’re there don’t forget to check out her other […]

    Like


  8. […] with a somewhat large sheet of paper, probably 11 inch x 17 inch (A3). The folds are based on the Origami Pamphlet folds. That cut away window in the middle makes a place for a secret picture, which is only revealed […]

    Like


  9. Love it! Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  10. Jasper Says:

    how can i make more pages? email me plz thanks!

    Like


  11. […] book block was made from 4 pieces of 11″ x 17″ papers folding into origami pamphlets, then sewn together side-by-side. All the holes for sewing were punched by paper […]

    Like


  12. […] The Origami Pamphlet is the #1 book that I would like every person to know how to make. Here’s the link to my post https://bookzoompa.wordpress.com/2009/11/30/how-to-make-an-origami-pamphlet  […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

