cut paper · Seminole Patchwork with Paper

Deciphering Seminole Patterns

The people who’ve been joining me for the Seminole Patchwork with Paper series were just treated to learning this chain-link pattern during session 9. They were also treated to hearing me go on and on about how difficult it was for me to decipher this pattern. Then yesterday Greta, a regular participant, emailed, asking if I would share how I decipher the patterns. I’m going to attempt to answer this here.

The most straightforward way to learn a pattern is to have some one else explain it, which is why I’ve referenced books. Below is page 36 from The Complete Book of Seminole Patchwork by Beverly Rush with Lassie Wittman, published by Dover, 1982.

Page 36 from The Complete Book of Seminole Patchwork by Beverly Rush with Lassie Wittman, published by Dover, 1982

Even when looking at diagrams there are a few key concepts to keep in mind.

The first thing to notice is that all of shapes in the pattern have a whole number relationship to each other, meaning that each shape is the same, twice as long, three times as long, four times as long, or some other whole number as long as the smallest square shape.

The next thing to keep in mind is that the orientation of the shapes as they move horizontally across the page are either vertical or at a 45 degree angle.

Cut strips of paper are aligned either vertically to the page, or at a 45 degree angle.

Next, I have to imagine each section of the diagram as the continuous band it was cut from. The center design in the diagram above from the book is made from two bands, one with seven strips, the other with three strips. I know this from counting, or from the label 2 (7,3) which is above the diagram.

Bands of color used to make the strips for the center left design on the book page above

It was fairly simple to decide how wide each strip of color should be for this pattern because I could look at a gridded diagram. I just had to imagine the grid as being upright, and count the number of squares in each section.

Thinking about everything in terms of a grid of squares is key.

I know that the making of these designs requires cutting bands into strips. It was fairly simple to decide how wide each strip of color should be for this pattern because I could look at a gridded diagram. I just had to imagine the grid as being upright, and count the number of square in each section. From the diagrams in the book, I’d be able to figure out how wide to make the bands of each color. Remembering that the strips would be straight up and and down or laid down at a 45 degree angle, I also have to consider whether or not the strips need to be rotated by a half turn.

Half-turn rotation of the strips is another key concept.

As I browsed through every resource I could dig up, I’d come across motifs that there were no diagrams for. I would have to imagine the grid on the pattern. The chain link at the top of this page and below was one that I I couldn’t find diagrams for.

The first thing to notice is the smallest square. I can trust that the length of the other blocks of color will be a multiple of this square. and not a particularly large multiple, which is nice to note as I can’t make very many wrong choices. If you look at the small light blue square above, can you assess how many of the will fit into the longer blocks of color? If you can, then you are deciphering the width of the colors. that are needed to make this pattern.

Turns out the chain-link pattern uses just two bands, all cut the same width. The tricky part is seeing how to rotate the strips in relationship to each other. You just have to keep looking and analyzing what’s the same and what’s different.

Some patterns are easy to decipher, as they only require cutting the strips the same way and laying them down next to each other at a 45 degree angle. It’s when multiple bands are used which are different widths, and which utilize rotations that things start getting confusing. A bit a tenacity, a willingness to make mistakes, and having lots of paper and glue is recommended.

The week 10 design in this this series will have all of the above.

As a closing note, I have to say that all the time I spend deciphering the structure of the Zhen Xian Bao, which is also based on squares and the diagonal of squares, as well as all the time I spend working with patterns from Islamic Geometric Designs provides me with a good foundation from which to work from when I look at the Seminole designs. Then there’s math, which has been my foundation for all it. What I like to say about math is that it’s empowering. Can’t overstate that enough.

4 thoughts on “Deciphering Seminole Patterns

  1. I enjoyed reading about your process. Your aptitude for bringing math into art is amazing. I am planning to work with your clever method for constructing the Seminole patterns this winter. Cheers from Doylestown.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paula,
    Thank you for taking the time to write a blog post about this process. It certainly has opened my eyes to this particular type of pattern. I have a long way to stretch my brain to see others, but it’s helpful to have such a skilled guide to chart the way. Thank you for putting on this series. It’s been a great way to start the New Year. Greta

    Like

  3. Hi Paula…

    Donna here from the Seminole Patterns learning group.

    I would like to THANK YOU for the delightful experience of learning with you about the Seminole Indians, a culture from long ago, and their amazing way of making patterns. It is also great to learn how their culture lived through their difficult history and today flourish.

    I’m still catching up with a few more patterns to go and I also send thanks to you for making this possible with the videos to show me how.

    Here are the pattern samples that are finished…Thank you again, Paula!!!

    /Users/donnamiller/Desktop/Seminole patterns

    Like

    1. Hi Donna, I’m so glad you enjoyed these sessions. I know that I loved working through this with you all.
      It looks like you meant to attach a link to some images? They didn’t come through, which drives me batty because I want to see them! Could you send them to me through email? Bookzoompa@gmail..com .

      thanks so much for being part of the sessions.

      Like

Leave a comment