How-to · moving parts

How to Make a Paper Spring

Paper Spring to use in Book Making with Children
How to Make a Paper Spring

Here is the How-to-Make-a-Paper-Spring hand-out that goes along with the photos in the previous post.  Not only is this little structure delightful and satisfying for children to make, but I have also been told that it is a great OT (Occupational Therapy) activity which helps develop fine motor skills, and supports eye/hand development.  In any case it is fun!

Years ago, before there was a glut of ad-filled “how-to”s on the internet, I came across another version of the paper spring;  the page was translated from German.  Instead of using two strips of paper, the author described using one long narrow strip of paper, which he folded in the middle  to create a right angle.  He proceeded in a way that is consistent with my directions.   This way of making the spring is less colorful, but, otherwise, it is an elegant structure.  The author of the article called the paper spring a Mouse Ladder.   Mouse Ladder.  I like that name.

I also made a B&W Paper Spring  hand-out.

Addendum: Here’s my video for making paper spring. The method is a bit different than the hand-out, but this way of thinking about it works great with little kids. This video was first published with my post https://bookzoompa.wordpress.com/2018/06/15/the-paper-spring-in-the-classroom/