Origami Pocket

September 13, 2010

 

How to make an origami Pocket by Paula Krieg

Click to enlarge for reading or printing

       As this is the beginning of the new school year, I am dedicating some posts on how to make an origami pocket. This is a great first project to make with students. It is a crowd pleaser, which is important to me because it can get a classroom of students happy to be  readily on board with paper and book arts. When I begin with  paper that is about 15 inch square  the resulting pocket can be a handy storage folder for on-going projects. 

   Before I go any further with this I want to clarify that this is not the traditional origami cup that one often sees.  For great directions on how to make an origami cup I recommend looking at  the  Kids Web Japan/Cup site. The noteworthy difference between the classic cup and my pocket is the width of the base of the structure.  I prefer the wider base as it is more suitable for storing books than the narrower, taller origami cup.  Just for the record, I was introduced to the origami pocket about a decade ago by a young boy, who learned it  from a TV program called Zoom.

I have have available a black and white copy of  directions on how to make an Origami Pocket.

5 Responses to “Origami Pocket”


  1. […] the left side of the spread the students pasted in an origami pocket.  This pocket is the home of a little book which contains information about Brazil.  The book is […]

    Like

  2. Ellen Ford Says:

    I am searching for the directions on how to make a Jacob’s Ladder pocket book with several pages on one side; close book; reopen other side which would again have several pages. Any help you might have would be greatly appreciated. ellen

    Like

  3. mohammad Says:

    Very nice, brief and helpful for a critical moment for me!!
    thank you

    Like


Leave a Reply

