How-to · simple book binding

How to Make a Graduated-Pages Book

How to Make a Graduated Pages Book
How to Make a Graduated Pages Book

I went searching on the web for a tutorial on how to make this oh-so-simple little book, and was surprised not to have found much. I’ve been wanting to make this how-to page for some time. So here it is.

There are lots of variations that can be done with this…paper sizes, colors, numbers of pages. See my last post for some finished books.  Here are some models:

graduated-pages sample books

When I am doing this with classes I will often use a copy machine to print lines on the paper for students. Using lined notebook paper works just fine too!

3 thoughts on “How to Make a Graduated-Pages Book

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog today and have been enjoying exploring it. You touch on a lot of my favorite topics. I wanted to share a resource which you may be familiar with. But in case you aren’t, it is fabulous! It is Dinah Zike’s Big Book of Books and Activities. Her other excellent book that expands on the subject is Dinah Zike’s Big Book of Projects. This is where I learned how to make the layered book. You mentioned not finding many resources on how to make it. See Page 70 in the Big Book of Books and Activities (ISBN 9781882796076

    I have enjoyed both of these Dinah Zike books because they helped me create wonderful resources for my children. Also, these creations led me to Lapbooks. If you haven’t heard of them, they are fabulous fun to make. They are wonderful ways to collect all the information children learn about a subject, put them into little books and then assemble the books into a lapbook made of a manila folder.

    I hope you enjoy discovering these. Thanks for sharing all you do on your blog.
    Lauri F.
    Northern California

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lauri, I don’t know Dinah Zike’s book, but I will take a look at it. I’m always interested in seeing how other people present directions to similar structures. Actually, one of my pinterest boards is a collection of directions that many artists have made, that describe the structure which I call an origami pamphlet, but other people call other names,like a zine, a hot dog book, and an eight page booklet.

      A librarian introduced me to the concept of the lapbook. I haven’t used it myself, but it seems like a really compelling structure.
      Thank for all the likes! I got a special message from WordPress noting that I received many likes: it was a great way to start the day.

      Like

Leave a comment