Penland, Days/Nights flying by, blending together

August 31, 2017

IMG_20170829_231759

I had no idea of what to expect when I got here, so everything about my first time here at Penland has been a surprise,. I certainly didn’t expect people to be working in the studios everyday from early in the morning until late at night. The photo above is the of the screen printing studio at about 11:30 pm.

IMG_20170829_220338

After the first day of instruction, which felt cocoon-like, things started to expand.

Rather than all of the instruction coming from Susan, the evening seem to be about people working on their own projects as well as teaching new skills to anyone who showed interest. We’re each helping each other not only with skills, but also ( when asked) with opinions. It gets very exciting.

IMG_20170829_173751

Then there’s been visitors, both from other studios on campus, and even from artists who live in North Carolina. In the photo above, that’s book artist Carol Norby on the left talking with Susan Share. Carol actually came by to meet Henrik Drescher who is the instructor in the studio above us, and he brought her down here to meet us.

 

Book by Carol Norby

Book by Carol Norby

Carol brought by a number or her books and we wouldn’t give her any choice but to show us everything she brought.

Henrik's studio space and students

The photo above is the drawing/painting studio. There’s been a comfortable amount of back and forth between our two studios. It’s probably indiscreet for me to go in and take photos of people’s work here, since it is not my class, so…

IMG_20170831_100227

…Tim, if you ask me to remove this picture from my blog, I will comply. While talking to the artist at this desk I realized that he is someone whose work I had come across a few years ago and had been thoroughly enchanted by. I was over the moon to actually meet him. Something about his work completely resonates with me.

IMG_20170829_212213

Meanwhile, back in the book arts studio Helga had an enlarged copy of the template Ed Hutchins had included in an extraordinary box/accordion/pop-up with flaps catalogue that he designed in 1996. Helga has been looking at this template for a year, trying to recreate Ed’s book. Since Ed is a friend of mine, I sent him photos of what Helga is working on and he sent back an appreciative response to her efforts, as well as thoughts of how to proceed.

Last night’s slide show feature Susan’s work. For the first time I saw this video documention of a solo show of her work.

 

Everyone was completely wowed by this video.

Here’s another video, meant to be a reminder for the class here, referencing how to make an origami slip case. I may be redoing this video, or rotating it when I get back home., but wanted just want to get it posted for now.

 

Tomorrow is the last full day of working here in the Penland studios.

IMG_20170831_093226

Susan M’s book/box

Work is continuing to be made. Tomorrow I’ll be taking lots of photos of pieces made by the awesome/inspired/talented/determined/creative/enthusiastic/generous/spirited/ dedicated people who have been working in this room this week. What a week!

One Response to “Penland, Days/Nights flying by, blending together”


  1. Thank you for all these fun pictures and commentary. One day I’d love to visit Penland, but for now I’ll be content with posts like yours. Susan once came to San Luis Obispo. where I live, for a workshop at our local museum. It was an exciting experience. I’d love to see her again. Workshops like this churn creativity and friendships. Keep working, Beryl

    Like


Leave a Reply

