Well, Well

March 27, 2017

Five years ago I bumped into a friend that I hadn’t seen in a while. Unbeknownst to me, he had been dealing with some health issues, but was now better. Having missed my chance to send him a get-well card, I designed him a got-well card. So that I wouldn’t misplace the template I created I stored it as a blog post https://bookzoompa.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/got-well/ then pretty much forgot about it.

This weekend I wanted to write a couple of cards, and went looking for that template.

I was just learning Adobe Illustrator back then (one of my best decisions) so I hadn’t figured out how to print designs on the well. Now I am feeling like it’s charming to sit and draw in the colors for the well.

Fancy Well

In the morning, sitting with my husband, sipping coffee, it’s pleasant to have something to color.

I assembled two of these this weekend: one as a get-well card, the other as a bit of fan mail, telling someone how much I’ve been enjoying their work.

Taking a page from my own play book, the lettering on the front was done by looking at a font that I’ve been using in a project that I’m doing with students.

I don’t know the name of this font, but it came from this awesome resource, found at https://archive.org/stream/studio00welo#page/204/mode/2up which is worth looking at and downloading.

I didn’t trace the letters, instead I just looked at them, free-hand sketched then went over them with gel pens. The strip below the lettering is part of the mechanism that makes the well 3D when the card opens.

Now comes the hard part…getting them in the envelopes, addressing them and sending them off. If I do this right now I may be able to get them into the mailbox before the mailman comes. Outta here!

Oh, in case you missed it, here’s the link to the post that explains how to assemble the pieces of this card. https://bookzoompa.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/got-well/

2 Responses to “Well, Well”

  1. Steve Morris Says:

    Got well. What a brilliant idea!

    Liked by 1 person


  2. It is wonderful to have something to color! Thanks for a beautiful post Paula.

    Like


Leave a Reply

