Woo Hoo! Asahi Bookcloth and Chiyogami!

January 20, 2017

 

wp-1484923732978-e1484931875636

As I continue to make Chinese Thread Books, I’m finding that I am beginning to develop preferences. Already, I find that I like Chiyogami paper for  the first layer box, a delicate, subtle paper for the second layer box, Stardream Metallic for the pamphlet and hidden sleeve. Now, after trying out the silky Japanese Asahi bookcloth for the cover, well, I’m hooked.

Chinese Thread Book, Zhen Xian Bao,, by Paula Krieg

This mostly red Chirogami pattern is not something that generally would catch my eye to use and buy, but I just loved the details of the patterns in the spheres. The toughest part of using it was finding papers to go with it.

wp-1484923732816.jpg

So detailed and beautiful, but does not play well with others.

wp-1484923732970.jpg

After much searchinger around, here’s what worked for my eye: Gold Stardream for the pamphlet cover, embellished with Stardream Metallic Quartz and random Chiyogami circles. Second layer box is a soft paper embedded with flowers.

Chinese Thread Book, Zhen Xian Bao,, by Paula Krieg

Pinwheel Twist box inside the pamphlet

Chinese Thread Book, Zhen Xian Bao,, by Paula Krieg

Gold Dragonfly paper for the big box, to which I’ve added a few golden starbursts.

Chinese Thread Book, Zhen Xian Bao,, by Paula Krieg

All wrapped up in Asahi bookcloth.

3 Responses to “Woo Hoo! Asahi Bookcloth and Chiyogami!”

  1. lgpaperarts Says:

    Gorgeous!

    Liberty Grove Paper Arts Sister Bay, WI 54234 http://www.libertygrovepaperarts.com

    >

    Like


  2. This is beautiful stuff. A colleague at my school teaches a bookbinding class, so I have shared your blog with her.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

