Happy WebBlog Birthday, 7 years old!

November 20, 2016

Birthday Blog Girl

Birthday Blog Girl

 


Once again acknowledging the happiness that this blog gives me, for seven years now.

Blog map

Blog map from 10/22

It used to be that the USA and the United Kingdom were always where my blog was most viewed. While it still stands that the US is by far where most visitors originate from, I ‘ve noticed a changing trend in the #2 spot of most-views-from. Yesterday, Israel provided the second most views. In the past two weeks, after the US, top number of views have come from the Czech Republic, Spain, Italy, Russia, Germany, the Netherland and India. Occasionally I see views from unexpected places like Qatar, Lebanon, and Guam (which I think isn’t even shown on the wordpress map?). Yes, it’s satisfying to know that people are interested in what I’ve been publishing on this site.

The two most clicked images this year, and last, were these:

How to make an origami Pocket by Paula Krieg

Click to enlarge for reading or printing

and

How to make 2 basic Pop-ups

How to make 2 basic Pop-ups

Two of my favorite posts from this past year were the Ta-Dah! post which featured the collaboration of brave souls to create two beautifully diverse stars.

First Star

 

Second star

 

Steve Morris wrote a timely, prescient blog post  in which he used one of the images above. You can view it on his blog at https://blogbloggerbloggest.com/2016/04/03/ethics-and-aesthetics/.

I have lots more favorite posts of this past year, but here’s another image from just one more:

I’ve had lots of fun this year responding to geometric and numeric sequence equations that Dan Anderson and Martin Holman have posted on twitter.

Also, this past year, Mike Lawler responded so enthusiastically to a post I wrote about a pentagon box  that I got inspired to make lots more boxes. Maybe I will write more about these at a later date.

Template for Puff Box

Template for Puff Box

Finally, I’ve been recently most enthralled by the Zhen Xian Bao, a structure that Sue Cole had introduced me to. To date, I’ve written seven posts on these, and most recently have been working on deciphering the secrets of creating my own version of this traditional piece of folk art. It turns out that all the attention I’ve given to geometry and math has been invaluable in sorting out ways to work the details of this Chinese folded structure! What a surprise…img_0513

Actually, as I look back on the year, I am seeing many more posts I want to highlight as a highlight….but I will stop here. It’s just that, OMG, I am just so grateful to have to place to share all of this with you.

 

7 Responses to “Happy WebBlog Birthday, 7 years old!”


  1. Happy anniversary to your blog.
    It’s the same case for me in France.

    Like

  2. Amy Says:

    Congratulations on seven years. You have a wonderful blog – thanks for all you have shared. I look forward to future posts!

    Liked by 1 person


  3. Happy 7th year blogging anniversary. You are very creative… Love what you do here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Steve Morris Says:

    7 years – congratulations! Your blog is always beautiful and inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Simon Gregg Says:

    Happy birthday blog!

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

