Paper to Go #2

April 13, 2016

 

envelope-made-from-graph2

Graphic lifted from Dan Anderson OP site

 

 

About two-and-a-half years ago  I made a post titled Paper to Go , about a clever folding sequence, using a single piece of paper, to make an  envelope. Recently I came across instructions for another envelope that totally intrigued me.

IMG_9767

 

It’s the sort of paper folding that I like the most. Looks good, feels useful, rearranges the patterns on paper well, looks great even with solid colored paper, and has a satisfying and tricky kind of logic to it.

envelopes 2

 

I’ve made lots of these now, and each and every time I complete one I like this structure better.  I’m going include the tutorial page that I found, but my sense is that you have to be fluent in Russian or with origami symbols to decipher these instructions. Even so, I invite you to try it.

 

If you have a hard time with the written directions, try watching me fold one of these. Here’s the video:

Happy paper folding!

 

7 Responses to “Paper to Go #2”

  1. La revue de Claire Says:

    I like it

    Like

  2. Steve Morris Says:

    Beautiful and useful!

    Like

  3. Susan Mills Says:

    Love this envelope!

    Like


  4. […] showcased, along with both a diagram and video instructions, on Paula Beardell Krieg’s blog, Playful Bookbinding and Paper Works. She told me my envelopes for National Letter Writing Month were her […]

    Like

  5. penny506 Says:

    I like the video because I made it along with you. It is so darn cute! Love this!

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

