Puffy Pentagon Box

March 31, 2016

 

Template for Puff Box

Template for Puff Box

I’m in the middle of a mind-numbing week of getting numbers together for taxes. I’m reaching for a little help from my friends to get through this week.

Pentagon Puff Boxes, front and back

Pentagon Puff Boxes, front and back

I saw these little pentagon puff boxes on Candy Wooding’s site. They looked simple enough, and she provided instructions and a template so of course I made one. It was simple to do, delightful, and just the sort of hands-on relief I needed from trudging through all my receipts. But then I got to thinking…uh, oh…

I wonder what the underlying structure looks like. Maybe I’d take a few minutes to work it out….

Backstage of the puffy box

Backstage of the puffy box

Turns out it wasn’t as easy as I thought. It took many false starts before I came up with this image, from which I could recreate my own template for the box.

Blank Puff Box

Blank Puff Box

I shouldn’t have taken the time to work on this today and yesterday, but, oh, well, it kept me more sane, and besides which it gave me just the excuse I needed to go looking for a great graphic to clip on to this shape. My first stop was, yet again, at Dan Anderson’s Open Processing site, where he just happened to have colorful squares rotating around a circle, which created pentagon shape.

All I can say is sometimes life is good.

Puff Boxes

Puff Boxes

So I made some puff boxes.

And played.

Puff Flower

Puff Flower

As far as I can tell, Candy Wooding created the design for these boxes, so I want to be sure to give her full credit for the design. There’s is a method to my madness here….I am thinking of putting together a paper crafts package as a partial fund-raiser for the local summer children’s program, and I want to include a few box designs. But that doesn’t preclude my offering them to you right now if you’d like to try your hand at these. Here’s my PDF of the Puff Boxes puff boxes .

Now, back to the other kind of paperwork. Sigh.

Addendum: Young Mr. Lawler provides a demonstration of how to make one of these boxes. Don’t be scared when the dog growls and the camera shakes https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=9&v=9GyvmsM9qL4

6 Responses to “Puffy Pentagon Box”

  1. Candy Says:

    Paula, these are delightful! I love the colors. Thanks for giving me credit. I love it when people use my ideas as a starting point and create wonderful paper art.

    Liked by 1 person


  2. […] Beardell Krieg (@PaulaKrieg) creates a beautiful Puffy Pentagon Box template: “It was simple to do, delightful, and just the sort of hands-on relief I needed. […]

    Like

  3. Kendra Says:

    This is so curious! I spent a little time playing, and I noticed something unexpected. Your curves are based on circles, but the curves in Candy Wooding’s model are not. From my limited amount of play, I think that the two curves fold about the same, but it intrigues me nonetheless.

    Like


Leave a Reply

