Stars!

December 31, 2015

Many people responded to my request to color in separated sections of a geometric star, which I wrote about in the post Invitation to My Sandbox and Filling in a Star. I will continue collecting images for this project until mid-January. In the meantime, I want to show off some of the work of people who will be contributing to this project.

Blütenfülle by Daria Wilber

Blütenfülle by Daria Wilber

 Daria Wilber (from the Midwest? I’m not really sure)  created this gorgeous book above of paper-cut geometric stars last spring. I had followed this project of hers as it developed, and was very pleased that she requested a tile.

Origami Star by Candy Wooding

Origami Star by Candy Wooding

Candy Wooding, who I believe lives on the West Coast and  whose blog My Paper Arts I’ve been following for some time, also requested a tile. Candy makes exquisite origami earth spirit vessels  out of hundreds of modules of folded papers. Her most recent post featured origami modular stars, which are made up of collected units. I consider her stars to  be a cousin to the project that I am working on!

Dot-Tree

Dot Tree, send by Janet Reynolds, Pasadena Texa

 After I send out tile #7 to Janet Reynolds in Texas she sent me back a note and the picture of this amazing tree,, which is a collection of student work. Her note said this:

Earlier in the year we celebrated International Dot Day based on the book “The Dot” by Peter Reynolds(no relation to me) . The students read the book and each one created a dot we placed on a tree. They also wrote about their dot.  They loved it and have enjoyed seeing their dots and those of their peers. The tree has been up since the beginning of the year and I have been trying to think of something to replace it with. Your project is perfect! Looking forward to seeing your stars assembled.

 

A section of a page by John Golden that I want to make a poster of

A section of a page by John Golden that I want to make a poster of

Math maven John Golden send me a note with a resounding “I am so in!” I have been totally wowed seeing the way he toys with geometric shapes in GeoGebra.org, and it seemed me that he was already an avid admirer or the 12-fold star. I have to say that I would have been forever disappointed if I hadn’t heard from him about joining in.

Dan Anderson's Class

Work done by student studying coding Dan Anderson’s Class

It absolutely is not a prerequisite for people to have already been working with stars in order to be part of my project, but as I am writing this post I’ve realized how many stars I have been seeing in the work of people who working with me on this. Maybe winter is the season of stars?  In any case, just before Christmas Dan Anderson posted the images above, which were created by students in his coding class. I wonder if these students had any idea that Mr. Anderson would be teaching them about making these kinds of pieces. Dan’s work with images in open processing has been hugely inspiring to me, so I’m really pleased that he agreed to be part of this project.

Ever day Iva Sallay writes about numbers in her blog Find the Factors. It is beyond my understanding how she can manage to create her puzzles and research number facts every day, but I’ve come to depend on the quiet reassurance I feel when reading her posts. Amazingly, she will be part of my star project, too!

Just about the same time that I was exploring lots of different variations of approaching geometric stars I saw the image above, posted by Simon Gregg, who teaches in France. His students had been making these stars in along with developing a more solid sense of number patterns. I am secretly hoping Mr. Gregg’s class will make a whole star themselves with the PDF files that I included in my first post about this project. Whether or not this happens I was particularly delighted when Simon signed on for a tile.

Tile 24 by Philippe Miron

Tile 24 by Philippe Miron

The list goes on! Included in the people who are wiling to be part of this project are artists, students, teachers, mathematicians, business owners, friends, and people who I don’t know at all. My favorite comment so far comes from England, from Alan Parr, who has been a teacher for a long time, and states that it gets easier after the first fifty years. I started following his work after reading a post about his early days in teaching. When he asked for a tile to color in he mentioned “My wife will NEVER believe I’m participating in an artistic project!” Yes, that was the comment that I’ve enjoyed the most so far.

Full disclosure: a big part of the reason I am writing this post is to encourage more people to be part of this project with me. I don’t know how it will turn out but I am excited to find out. Take a look at my post Invitation to my Sandbox and be in touch!

 

One Response to “Stars!”

  1. Simon Gregg Says:

    What a great meeting place your stars have been, Paula!

    Like


Leave a Reply

