Flip Books, nearly done

April 22, 2015

Equation of the Line Flip Books

Equation of the Line Flip Books

I didn’t think these would take so long to design and create.

I thought I was starting with something easy. My endgame plan is to make flip books that show hypotrochoids, aka spirograph shapes. I thought that starting  with something as straight forward as a straight line wouldn’t take long. These books show variations of the equation of a line (y=mx+b). Four books, one to show changes in b, one to show changes in x, and two to show changes in m. This process has been anything but fast and easy.

I didn’t count on there being so many decisions to make. I didn’t count on having to make so many revisions. I had to learn a whole lot more about the graphics program that I’m using.

I am ready to finish up this project.

I have loved every second of working on these books.

This is a short post because I hope to finish up these books in two days, and to post PDF’s for Do-It-Yourself flip books, so that anyone can make them.

 

8 Responses to “Flip Books, nearly done”

  1. Shab Says:

    Very nice Paula. Here are my true stereoscopic flipbooks: http://www.gravitram.com/flip_books.htm

    Like


    • Shab,
      Your flip books look AWESOME! Your Gravotran sculptures look outrageously fun.

      I’m curious, what process do you use for binding your books?
      thanks for leaving a comment.
      Best,
      Paula

      Like

      • Shab Says:

        Paula, I use a power staple gun through the pages and double sticky tape to stick the cover on the spine of the book. It could be done also with hot glue gun if you don’t have a stapler.

        What part of the country do you live in? If you wish, you can respond directly to my email: shablevy@comcast.net

        Like

  2. dariawilber Says:

    Holy cow Paula! These books are fantastic!

    Like


  3. What a great idea, these books are just great. Karen

    Like

  4. ivasallay Says:

    You are one very hard working lady. They look beautiful, too!

    Like


    • Thanks Iva. I have to tell you that I hadn’t anticipated that these four books would look so sweet together. The patterns on the fronts of each book comes from overlaying the visuals of each books equations on top of each other. I really didn’t have a clue, when I started this project, what these patterns would look like.

      I’m in the nitty-gritty finishing stages of these books right now. Everything id done, but I now am reviewing the books for mistakes. So far I’ve found about 3 errors per book. By the end of today, Sunday, I should be completely finished and ready to post PDFs. I am excited to be at this point!!!!

      Like


Leave a Reply

