The Art of Making a Book

December 20, 2014

This is a reblog of a post that appealed to me because it reminded me of how the process of making a book is a pleasure to see. I’ve often been enchanted by looking at a drawing as it develops. Watching papers become transformed into a book is equally mesmerizing.

2 Responses to “The Art of Making a Book”

  1. Nan Says:

    I used your folding diagram for a minibook on my blog with a linkback to your page. Found it by Googling. http://nancooks.blogspot.com/2014/12/mini-book.html. Was blogging about my minbook and wanted a visual. Thanks for having this online.

    Like


    • Thanks for the linkback and the note of thanks. It makes my day when I get a note like this!
      I took a look at what you made and loved how you so completely filled the paper. Your image of the unfolded paper, in which half of the pages appear to be upside down, is one of my favorite ways of viewing this structure: it looks so dynamic. If you ever want to make this book twice as large with 8 1/2″ x 11″ paper make two book bases https://bookzoompa.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/a-simple-book-with-potential/ and attach them together at the edges and you’ll end up with a larger version of what you’ve made.

      Happy blogging!

      Like


Leave a Reply

