Happy B-logthday Year Five

November 20, 2014

Five on the 5th Floor of SVA so many years ago, based on Charles Demuth's famous "I saw the Figure 5 in Gold

Five on the 5th Floor of SVA so many years ago, based on Charles Demuth’s famous “I saw the Figure 5 in Gold” 192

Today, November 20, starts my blog’s fifth year. To mark the occasion I dug up this photo of the number five, which I painted in the fifth floor stairwell of the School of Visual Arts in NYC when I was a student there long ago. It is, of course based on Charles Demuth’s famous painting I Saw the Figure Five in Gold, 1928.

The 23rd Street building of SVA was, and probably still is, six stories tall. I was up and down those stairs many times a day, and I would never be quite sure what floor I was on. I requested and was granted permission to label all the stairwells. My only record of this are these color copies that I’ve scanned in. I loved doing this project.

My two twos in the Stairwell at SVA

My two twos in the Stairwell at SVA

I tried to make the rendering of each number relevant. Two twos seemed appropriate. I also liked that there were two doors  and two emergency lights on top of the box to echo the double twos.

One, fading to zero

One, fading to zero

Heading down to the first floor, and nearly out the door, the one fades down towards zeros. I was particularly pleased with this one.

Besides having that great big gold five to post, showing these pictures from my student days feels just right: now that my children have left home for school I actually have chunks, big chucks of time that I can work in my studio in the same way that I could before I had children. I am feeling like my old self, but with all these years of full living in between, I have so much more to bring to this former self. There’s an arc that not only connects me back to where I’ve been but that’s gathered abundance along the way. It feels wonderful. birthday screen shot 2

 

Here’s a screen shot that Google presented me with for my birthday. I guess when I joined G+ I got on their birthday card list. Yup, it’s a bit creepy, but it’s also really sweet, so I saved it to share with my blog. I got it into my mind to give the blog some presents for this landmark day: buttons. Yes, buttons. At the end of each post there are now pinterest, facebook-like, share on reddit, email, and tweet buttons.(I don’t like the counting feature on these buttons…if anyone knows how to change that feature, please let me know.)  Also at the top of my sidebar, I put a follow-me-on-Pinterest button, and, if you like my one page tutorials, you will be able to find them all gathered together on a Pinterest board: not all of the tutorials have been copied there yet, but I’m working on it.

This has been one of those all out birthdays. I’m glad you stopped by for the celebration.

 

3 Responses to “Happy B-logthday Year Five”

  1. Siri Allison Says:

    Very cool fun stairwells. If I had five stories I would want you to paint them too.

    Like

  2. Amy Says:

    Happy blog birthday! What a fun and useful project you did back at SVA 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

