Heading West to Waverly, Pennsylvania

October 7, 2014

Belin 50th Brochure PRINT-1

At the Comm, Waverly, PA

Right now I’m preparing materials for three short workshops that will be happening at the Community Center in Waverly, Pennsylvania. this Saturday, October 11. There will be many presenters during the grand weekend long celebration of the 50th year of the E. Lammot Belin Arts Scholarship. I’ve taken a look at the line-up, which was published as part of an article, in the local Times-Tribune, and it looks like I will be missing many great workshops while I am teaching my own.

If you happen to be in the Scranton area, do come. These workshops are all free to the participants.

I’ll be busy with three different groups. For adults, at 1:15 I will be teaching the Card Carrying Blizzard Book, a diminutive structure which can be modified in many ways, and which is created through a sequence of cleverly arranged folds.

Card Carrying Blizzard Book, a book structure designed by Hedi Kyle

Card Carrying Blizzard Book, a book structure designed by Hedi Kyle

The organizers of this event pretty much left it up to me what to teach, and they let me decide on what ages I wanted to work with. Well, I like just about every age group, so I asked to do three workshops, each focusing on a different group. I’m looking forward to showing adults how to make this little card-carrying book, as it’s not something that I often have an opportunity to teach.

At noon,just before the adult workshop, I’ll be working with 8 to 12 years, making pop-ups.

Many Layered Pop-up

Many Layered Pop-up

I plan to show some basic pop-up concepts to these children, then give them time to let loose with their own creativity.

The morning workshop, the first of the three, is one of my favorites to teach.I nearly never have the right venue in which to present it. Here’s the description that I wrote up:

11:00 – 11:50 Impromptu Paper and Book Arts for Parents and their Pre-school Children

 Here’s a workshop that stretches how creative Moms and Dads can be while tending young children. During this open studio time caretakers, who are invited to bring their infants and toddlers along with them, will learn how to transform regular pieces of paper into whimsical and wondrous playthings.

Simple Paper Structures

So, did you get that? Infants and toddlers are invited to come to this workshop, along with their caretakers. There’s no guarantee about what will get done, as each child/adult pair have their own unpredictable dynamics.  I will be bringing written directions for the projects so that people can work at their own paces. I think I will have some helpers with me, too.

Small Paper Stage

Small Paper Stage

I dreamt up the concept for this workshop in waiting rooms when my children were small. I would scrounge up a piece of paper, sometimes an expired flyer hanging on the wall, sometimes one of those cards that all always falling out of magazines, and I would entertain my children with a little pop-up or an impromptu book. It really came in handy, knowing how to transform bits of paper into playthings. This workshop lets me share these little treasures.

At various times I’ve already posted directions for the simple little structures that I will be teaching in the toddlers’ class. But, if you are interested,  I’ve  put together a 6 page, 4MB PDF file that I can send via email to anyone who asks for it.  It won’t go out automatically so be patient, though chances are you will get it within about half a day. You’ll wait longer, though, if you ask on Saturday: or. if you are impatient, you will just have to come to Waverly, Pennsylvania and sit in on one of the workshops.. See you there!

8 Responses to “Heading West to Waverly, Pennsylvania”

  1. lgpaperarts Says:

    I would love a copy of the PDF for the toddlers class. Sounds like a truly fun day of classes! Thanks so much, Nancy

    Sent from my iPad Liberty Grove Paper Arts http://www.libertygrovepaperarts.com

    >

    Like


    • Nancy, thanks for being the first to request this! I guess you’ve noticed by now that it took me three tries to find where it went in my files and then remember to attach before I hit the send button.
      Let me know if the file behaves correctly.
      thanks.
      Paula

      Like

  2. Sue Cole Says:

    I would like a copy of it also. Where did you get the paper or what kind is it that you used for the blizzard books. It’s hard to find nice paper that’s long enough.
    Thanks, Sue

    Like


    • hi Sue
      Most of the papers I used were varying weights of regular copy paper. The blizzard books are made from papers that I have in my stash, some of which are unique, handmade papers, which look good, but are really hard to work with. The brown, elephant hide paper is my favorite to use, but is no longer being manufactured.

      Like

  3. hememd Says:

    I would love a copy of your handout. I have 8 young grandchildren who can’t get enough art and paper play!

    Like

  4. Pat Cotten Says:

    I love the idea of the blizzard book for business cards!

    Like


Leave a Reply

