November 20, 2013

November 20, 2013

Birthday Candles Pop-up

Birthday Candle Pop-Up

Four year birthday for my blog!

It’s been quiet here lately… I’ve missed being here, as posting is one of the things I like most about my life.  Three months ago I had knee-replacement surgery, and it’s been quite a journey. Feels like I’ve been in a cocoon as the healing has been happening. Good days and bad days. Every day things feel just a little bit better, and that’s a good thing.

I made the pop-up pictured here as a sample for a class that I taught maybe 15 years ago at the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, a real gem of a museum. It’s an appropriate image for me to show right now, not only because it has four lit candles , but also because I am thinking about a couple of  posts that I want to do on making  pop-ups.  Generally, when I do pop-ups I am doing them with young children, so it’s important to keep things simple while still making them interesting.  I have to say that  I am always impressed, with what a big impression creating these structures makes on children.  I know that, in the book and paper arts world, that pop-ups are well covered, but we all have our styles, tricks, and fascinations. I look forward to sharing mine here.

Thanks for coming to the party.

3 Responses to “November 20, 2013”

  1. Mary Says:

    Happy Birthday Paula’s Blog. Love seeing them.

    Like


  2. I am teaching myself a new book structure each month in 2013 – and November’s challenge is Pop-Ups! Can’t wait to see your tutorial.

    Like


Leave a Reply

