Almost February 14

February 12, 2013

Valentineflares

Flares

This past Christmas season I received far fewer holiday cards than in previous years. It seemed to me that the December 13 Newtown tragedy created a wound so deep in our collective psyche that sending out “Merry Christmas” cards seemed dissonant with the moment. I sent out holiday cards. It actually felt hard to send them out, as my heart was full of sadness for the Sandy Hook families. But I have a conviction that it is important to send out messages of caring, so, rather than wishing people a merry Christmas, I sent them wishes of love in the coming year.

Now Valentine’s Day is coming and I have another opportunity let people know that I am thinking of them.  On Valentine’s Day I will post a Valentine for you who care to look at my blog.  To make the Valentine I first filled a 3o inch by 40 inch template with multicolored flares in Adobe Illustrator (see picture above.)

30' x 40"

30′ x 40″

I emailed the Illustrator file to Staples and they printed out this poster…there’s a sale this month so this print cost only $18.00. I was blown away by the quality of the print. The color and detail were so superior to anything that my home printer could do that I will never waste my time printing this sort of thing at home again. Besides, I could never do large sizes, and the large size was sooo much fun to get.

flares and Bill's pencil box

flares and Bill’s pencil box

As an aside, as I was working on this project my husband gave me this pencil box, which he had decorated. We had been working completely independently of each other, so I was taken by the similarity of our imagery. But I digress…

Slicing the image

Slicing the image

Next I started cutting up the image by scoring and tearing. I didn’t much like the way the edges looked so….

v stack

…the edges got some gold guilding with Winsor and Newton gold ink. I love this product.

Okay…that’s all I’m going to give away about this project before Valentine’s Day. Check back on the fourteenth, and let me send some love your way.

Leave a Reply

