Got Well

October 15, 2012

A couple of days ago I bumped into a friend, whom I had not seen for a while. He apologized for having been out of touch . He then went on to explain that, no big deal, but he had gone to the doctor for a check up and the doctor freaked out and immediately ordered life-saving surgery.  As I didn’t know he was laid up , I had missed my chance to send him a Get Well card. so I’d decided to send him a Got Well card.

My friend didn’t know it, but I have been out of touch too,, but for much less dramatic reasons. I blame my utter distraction on our new puppy….and my determination to finally learn Adobe Illustrator.  I bought the program and the book, and, as well as looking at tutorials on You Tube, I have been working through the book, page by page. I am on page 125 out of 446 pages. A big part of the reason I want to learn the program is so that it will be easier to create the tutorial pages I make for this blog. Up until now I have been doing them with only a scanner in Microsoft Word on an old XP computer.

Paul Jackson pop-up book pg 88-9

The Pop-Up Book, by Paul Jackson, Pages 88-89

Since I would be making a Got Well card I decided I wanted a Well on the inside of the card. I am not a great pop-up engineer, but I can follow directions. I depend on my library of pop-up books when I want to do something different. I found just what I wanted in Paul Jackson’s Pop-up Book.

I also wanted to try out some of my new Adobe illustrator skills. Here’s what I came up with.

Template for a Got Well pop-up card

Tab sliding through the slot, inside of card

Tab sliding through slot, outside of card

Tab, folded and glued down

Once the tab is slid through, it is folded and glued down.

An extra guide for my slider tab

I should have been done with the card with those few steps. but my Well opened a bit crooked, so I cut in a couple of extra slots for my tab to weave through. This straightened things out just fine.

Got Well, Keep Well

That’s it! Now I have to get back to learning this Adobe Illustrator program. I will be trying out the things that I am figuring out, so there might be an uneven abundance of computer generated images coming through my pipeline for now, as the only way I will learn these skills is to try them out. This is a learning curve that I am so ready for.

9 Responses to “Got Well”

  1. Sue Cole Says:

    I had been wondering what had happened to you. Glad you’re both okay now. I always like learning new things and have recommended your blog to lots of people, especially teachers.

    Like


    • HI Sue, among other thinkgs, I have been making crispy Kale in the toaster oven, like you described in one of your emails. What a surprise it was to get crisp chips from Kale! Sometimes the leaves get too oily…do you have a tip on how to put on just the right amount of oil?
      I’ve missed writing in the blog. Sometimes I just have to regroup. Thanks for thinking of me.

      Like

      • Sue Cole Says:

        either try blotting them with a paper towel or use the Pam with olive oil spray. Some people put hot pepper flakes on them for a zing. They sell them commercially now, but I think they are way to expensive. $6.89 for a small bag. Also, a store here sells a “superfood salad” in the salad bar with torn kale, shredded carrots, raw cashews, frozen green peas, blueberries, dried cranberries and sometimes edamame, with a practically non existent dressing. I get it pretty much every time I go there. They also have the basics in a bag in the salad section.

        Like


      • I’m going to try the pam olive oil…didn’t know that existed. I’ll let you know how it goes. Thanks!

        Like


  2. Your “Got Well” card is adorable and clever! I’m sure he loved it.

    Like

    • Paula Beardell Krieg Says:

      He seemed to like it very much. I received an email with the phrase “well, well, Well” in the subject line. 🙂

      Like

  3. Laurie Cohen Says:

    Brilliant and beautiful! I think that you should make a whole line of ” Got Well” cards.

    Like


  4. I just found your blog and I really enjoyed it. I took a college class on Adobe Illustrator and feel as though I only scratched the surface. It certainly can take lots and lots of time. I find it hard to make time for art, the computer and blogging (and this is without a new puppy).

    I have nominated you for a Beautiful Blogger Award.

    If you accept, please go to
    http://paperandbooks.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/a-gift-the-beautiful-blogger-award/

    Like


    • Candy…thanks for your comments, and for your empathy…especially about the new puppy. I am at the library, my source for high speed internet, while she is home, no doubt whining. I can’t help but feel guilty. But she likes when I am glued to my computer, working on learning the Illustrator program!

      Like


Leave a Reply

