Milk Cap Cover Book

March 4, 2012

I recently had a hankering to locally source (scavenge) some materials to use to make a book.

I have a bit of a collection of materials from a couple of fine local businesses. One is Blind Buck Interiors, a drapery and upholstery business, which has provided me with a many wallpaper and fabric sample books. Another is the Battenkill Creamery, a dairy which has a dedicated herd from which they process their own milk right on the farm. The milk can be bought in returnable glass bottles topped with a substantial plastic cap, which is not returnable. I have lots of caps.

I took some milk caps and sewed them on to some upholstery samples.

I started this project mostly because I had been admiring some circles that my daughter had been coloring in. She had made a graphically lovely pages of colored in circles, and I wanted to do some colorful circles too. I had some leftover scraps of watercolor washes lying around, so I punched out some circles and glued them to the caps.

I sewed in just a few signatures, using a simple butterfly stitch that I picked up from one of Keith Smith’s books. I used round shoe laces instead of thread, as the proportions seemed right and they were handy. One thing I like about making books is being able to use anything I feel like using to assemble a book.

This little book stands alone in how it stands alone. It already has a new home, but while it was still here every time I saw it I felt happy. It just looks so silly and lovely.

6 Responses to “Milk Cap Cover Book”

  1. Laurie Cohen Says:

    Love it! Miss you! Can we scavenge together this
    summer?

    Laurie

    Like


  2. Hi Paula, would love a closeup of the butterfly stitch and reference for finding instructions in Keith Smith’s books…enjoy the structures and their playful nature!

    Like


  3. I am the lucky recipient of this whimsical MCCB ~ and I’m happily using it to make 2012 garden notes. Thank you, Paula

    Like


Leave a Reply

