Stopping Work to….Work

March 26, 2011

 Watercolor Washes

I have been getting off track with blogging, and this has been bothering me. I’m not bothered by the fact that I am not posting much, rather I am perplexed by why it is that I don’t feel like writing. Also, I feel like my last couple of posts lack sparkle.

There are a couple of things that I have been fortunate to figure out. One of these things is that if I am resistent to doing something (in this case, adding to this blog) it means that the activity at hand lacks honesty, therefore I become resistent to carrying on with it. It’s not that I mean to be disingenuous: it’s just that I sometimes slip into doing what I suppose that I ought to be doing.

Right now I am in my busy season working in schools. I am working with more than a hundred children a week, doing projects that I consider to be rich and creative. I am proud of the work that I do in the schools so it seems to me that I ought to be writing about these projects. But what I really want to do is take high quality watercolor paper, wash it with high quality inks, and make a longstitch book using the washes as pages. What’s frustrating, too, is that I am really too busy getting ready for classes to stop and play, but I have reached an impasse. I can’t seem to get myself to do anything at all done until I get this next book done.

Sometimes the energy it takes to resist doing this work is greater than the energy it takes to do what both what I want to do as well as what I have to do. this appears to be one of those times.

I anticipate that when I finish making the little book that I have in mind, I can get my mind back on the classes that I am teaching.

Leave a Reply

