Origami Pamphlets, Sewn Together

December 15, 2009

In my last post I made reference to the fact that it would be unwise to sew together origami pamphlet sections. In fact, if the sections are made according to my directions using  8 1/2″ x 11″ copy paper, the grain of the resulting book sections will, inappropriately, be running perpendicular to the spine. However, you can work it out to use paper in such a way that the grain is running parallel to the spine.  For the  book  pictured here I cut copy paper in half, so that that each resulting sheet measured 5 1/2″ x * 8 1/2″.  This changes the proportions of the sheets in such a way that the spine of the resulting sections are now parallel to the spine of the book, just right for sewing.

This book is thick (I used eleven sections) but small.  The sewing pattern that I used shows up in a small way, so I felt that it was an good choice for this project.  I used 4-ply waxed linen thread.  The description for this stitching can be found in Exposed Spine Sewings by Keith Smith, starting on page 220.  He calls it the Butterfly.

Leave a Reply

